Daniel Ben-Horin

Daniel Ben-Horin
Founder and Co-Chief Executive Officer
TechSoup Global

Mr. Ben-Horin created TechSoup Global (as “CompuMentor”) in 1987 by tapping volunteer resources on the WELL, one of the first online communities. Over the past two decades, he guided the TechSoup Global evolution from a small, local nonprofit to a globally respected entity with 196 employees and a budget of US$27 million. TechSoup Global now provides technology information to individuals and organizations in more than 190 countries, has provided consulting services in more than 50 countries and, through its global network of capacity-building NGOs, manages product donations to more than 80,000 organizations in 36 countries.
In his book Blessed Unrest, Paul Hawken writes that the “…hybridization of business, philanthropy technology and nonprofit activity is exemplified in the work of Daniel Ben-Horin…”

Currently, as Co-CEO, Ben-Horin focuses on creating new opportunities for corporate, foundation, and nonprofit partners around the globe to optimize their social benefit impact by utilizing TechSoup Global’s channel, resources, and relationships. He speaks and writes frequently on issues related to the underserved’s access to technology.

In April 2009, Ben-Horin received the 2009 “Lifetime Achievement Award” from the Nonprofit Technology Enterprise Network (NTEN). Presenting the award, Vince Stehle, Program Officer for the Nonprofit Sector at the Surdna Foundation, said, “[This award is] given each year to a person who has pushed the nptech community forward. This push might be in the form of innovation, or thought leadership. In the case of Daniel Ben-Horin, the 2009 recipient and co-CEO of TechSoup Global, it’s both. Everyone who works in our field owes him a debt of gratitude for revolutionizing how we get and share software and information.”
In July of 2009, Ashoka named Ben-Horin as one of its Senior Fellows. He also serves on the board of the Nonprofit Finance Fund. On four occasions, he has been named by the Nonprofit Times to its annual list of the 50 most influential leaders in the U.S. nonprofit sector.